NPGA Bobtail

Nebraska Protects State PERC Program

Currently 15 states operate a state PERC: Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, and Oklahoma. These industry checkoff programs support numerous education, research, and safety initiatives. State PERC programs are beneficial to industry membership and the general public.

Earlier this year, a bill was introduced in Lincoln that would eliminate Nebraska’s PERC program on July 1, 2025. The state has successfully operated its checkoff program since 1998. Following engagement with legislators, the Nebraska Propane Gas Association was able to scuttle the bill and ensure the continued existence of its state PERC.

Lynne McNally, Executive Director of the Nebraska Propane Gas Association, spearheaded the effort to protect this important program. “Nebraska PERC brings a tremendous amount of value to our members and propane customers across the state and there’s no reason to eliminate it,” McNally said. “I would like to thank Chairman Rowse and Trainer Dave Anderson for their assistance in providing information to the Governor and the Legislative Committee. Our association will continue to fight misguided efforts to end the program.”

For more information, contact NPGA’s Director of State Affairs, Jacob Peterson.