NPGA Bobtail

FMCSA Regional Emergency Declaration

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) issued a Regional Emergency Declaration in response to the arctic blast and severe ice storm impacting much of the United States.  The Emergency Declaration waives hours of service requirements for the transportation of propane, among other commodities, to those customers impacted by the severe weather in the below states.  The declaration is in effect until March 4, 2021.

NPGA has been in regular communication with FMCSA sharing the extraordinary efforts of the propane industry to safely meet the needs of our consumers as well as round-the-clock coordination of state/regional association leaders.

States Under FMCSA Emergency Declaration:

  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Download the Emergency Declaration

Guidance on emergency declarations and waivers by the National Association of State Energy Officials is available here.  Please direct any questions to or share new information with Sarah Reboli, NPGA Senior Director of Regulatory & Industry Affairs.