NPGA Bobtail

Election Overview: Statehouses

Following the results of Tuesday’s elections, beginning in 2024, Democrats will have complete control of statehouses in 20 states and the District of Columbia. Republicans will have total control of 28 statehouses. Pennsylvania and Alaska will have split control, with Democrats controlling one chamber and Republicans the other.

More than half of all legislatures have a veto-power majority, greatly reducing the power of governors to exert influence over the legislative process.

For more information, contact NPGA’s Director of State Affairs, Jacob Peterson.